Marquette County citizens honored for volunteer service

Several individuals and an organization from Marquette County have been recognized for outstanding efforts to make their community a better place to live.

Recipients of the 2013 Marquette County Outstanding Volunteer Awards were announced by the Volunteer Coordinators of Marquette County during the 17th annual volunteer recognition event April 20 at the Westwood Mall in Marquette.

 Bob Salvate of Gwinn was named Volunteer of the Year. Salvate volunteers an average of 50 hours each month with Marquette County Retired and Senior Volunteer Program’s (RSVP) Project LifeTracker which provides transmitters for people with Alzheimer’s disease or other dementia. Salvate goes to clients’ homes on a monthly basis to check and replace batteries on the transmitters. A sampling of his additional volunteer activities includes working with the Forsyth Township SHARE food program; Gwinn VFW bingo, dances and pasty sales; Forsyth Senior Center Merry Mixers, setting up bake sales, craft sales, intergenerational parties and other activities for the benefit of the community.

 Yvonne Clark of Negaunee received the Senior Volunteer Award. Clark has volunteered more than 8,800 hours with RSVP since she started 19 years ago. As coordinator of Project LifeTracker, she schedules and conducts volunteer trainings, orders and maintains equipment and batteries, organizes and leads monthly volunteer meetings and matches clients with volunteers. She has also volunteered with the American Red Cross, several senior agencies, Bell Hospital Auxiliary and Marquette County United Way.

Cheryl Rintamaki of Ishpeming received the Adult Volunteer Award. She volunteers regularly with the Coffee Cart, Gift Shop and Kids’ Corner at Bell Hospital and as a meal host with the AMCAB congregate senior meal site at Pioneer Bluff Apartments. She also helps with the newsletter at the Ishpeming Senior Center and crochets items for community-giving projects.


Dave Dausey of Marquette and his dog, Roxy received the Pet Partners Award. They were honored for their service with the Marquette General Hospital Dog Therapy Partnership. The duo visits patients, visitors and staff at least twice a week. They have served 350 hours since they began volunteering in August 2011.                                         

RSVP Non-Emergency Medical Transporters received the Volunteer Organization Award. Transporters spent 2,055 hours driving seniors to and from, and escorting them into, medical care appointments. In 2012, 51 volunteer drivers provided 913 rides for 151 clients.

Brendan Franklin of Marquette received the Michael D. Nunnally Northern Michigan University Student Volunteer Award. Franklin was recognized for his volunteer work in university and community programs and organizations including Make a Difference Day, Student Leader Fellowship Program, NMU Student Nurses’ Association, Room at the Inn, Medical Care Access Coalition, Janzen House and others.

The Volunteer Coordinators of Marquette County host the awards and volunteer recognition event each spring in conjunction with National Volunteer Week. The event recognizes all volunteers for their service to communities in Marquette County.

The Volunteer Coordinators of Marquette County provide networking opportunities for those working with volunteers and share resources on volunteerism-related projects. The group invites those who work with volunteers to join its monthly meetings. For more information about the Volunteer Coordinators of Marquette County, contact Jane Iery at 906-228-3578.


Recipients of the 2013 Marquette County Outstanding Volunteer Awards stand with plaques presented to them by the Volunteer Coordinators of Marquette County during the organization’s annual volunteer recognition event April 20 at Westwood Mall in Marquette. Pictured from left are Cheryl Rintamaki, recipient of the Adult Volunteer Award; Bob Salvate, recipient of the Volunteer of the Year Award; Yvonne Clark, recipient of the Senior Volunteer Award and Dave Dausey and his dog Roxy, recipients of the Pet Partners Award. Not pictured are RSVP Non-Emergency Medical Transporters recipients of the Volunteer Organization Award and Brendan Franklin, recipient of the Michael D. Nunnally NMU Student Volunteer Award.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: